Some sites require you to login on the front end, in order to access certain information.
You can choose to allow self registration on your site, or you can add users on the back end. For self registration, a visitor to the site will click on ‘Register’ and provide an email address and choose a password. The user will then receive a confirmation email. To change the settings for registration, go to Users, User Manager and click on ‘Options’ on the upper right hand side.
NOTE: If you choose to allow user registration on the front end, there are three options for New User Account Activation. ‘None’ means that that user can login as soon as they register. ‘Self’ means that the user can login once they click through the confirmation email they receive after registering. ‘Admin’ (recommended) means that users can login once an administrator approves them. If you chose the ‘Admin’ option, an email will be sent to all administrators/super users who are set to receive system emails.
Administrators and Super Administrators can also create new users through the back end of the website, by going to ‘Users’ ‘User Manager.’ You will see a list of current registered users. To add someone, click the ‘new’ icon on the right hand side.
Provide a name, username, and password. For front-end access, you have the following group options available:
Registered – This group allows the user to login to the Frontend interface. Registered users can’t contribute content, but this may allow them access to other areas, like a forum or download section if your site has one. Most of your users will be registered users.
Author – This group allows a user to post content, usually via a link in the User Menu. They can submit new content, select options to show the item on the front page and select dates for publishing but they cannot directly publish any content. When content is submitted by an Author level user, they receive the message, “Thanks for your submission. Your submission will now be reviewed before being posted to the site.” They can edit their own articles but only when that article has been published and is visible.
Editor – This group allows a user to post and edit any (not just their own) content item from the Frontend. They can also edit content that has not been published. Still, Editor users cannot, publish or change the publishing status of any articles, even their own.
Publisher – This group allows a user to post, edit and publish any (not just their own) content item from the Front-end. Publishers can review all articles, edit and change publishing options but the can also determine when an article is ready for publication, making it visible to Registered, Author and the Unregistered Public.
You can also provide someone with back end access. There are three levels of back end access:
Manager – Able to create, modify content
Administrator – Able to create categories for content, manage users
Super User – Able to change all site settings
Be extremely cautious about providing super user access, it provides complete control over the website.
If you have created custom user groups, you can assign the user to a custom group.
After a user has been created, administrators can change their settings by selecting their entry in the user manager list, and clicking the ‘edit’ icon on the right side of the screen.
If you need to import a user list from a spreadsheet, please contact support.